Leadership & Governance

This page

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The ISBHF is a non-profit international sports federation, established on democratic principles, independent of political parties and movements.

The democratic bodies of the ISBHF are:

  • Conference, as the highest body – the Annual Conference of ISBHF Members elects members of ISBHF Bodies for a two-year term
  • President, as the head of the executive body
  • Vice-President, as the deputy of the head of the executive body
  • Board of Directors, as the executive body
  • Executive Director, as the statutory body
  • Office, as the non-elected administrative body lead by the ISBHF Secretary. Members of the ISBHF Office are appointed and dismissed by the ISBHF Board of Directors.

ISBHF President & Vice President

ISBHF President

George Gortsos, president@isbhf.com

George Gortsos is a Canadian Ball Hockey Association (CBHA) Hall of Fame Player, and ISBHF Hall of Fame Coach. George was the captain of Canada and a World All-Star Defenseman in the first ISBHF World Championship in 1996 in Bratislava, Slovakia. He also coached Canada to 4 ISBHF World Championship Gold Medals, in 2001, 2003, 2005 and 2007. George Gortsos was elected in as ISBHF President in 2012 and currently serves his fifth term leading the ISBHF.

Executive Director & Secretary

ISBHF Executive Director & Secretary

David Tor returned to the sport at the 2017 ISBHF World Championships as a volunteer; working for the ISBHF in both marketing and administration. Following the 2017 World Championships, he has started working as the ISBHF Secretary, and has been promoted to the Executive Director position in 2020.

Board of Directors

Elio Pascuzzo, Canada, pascuzzo@isbhf.com

Elio Pascuzzo has been involved in ball hockey since the 1970s as a player, coach, manager, referee and league administrator, among other responsibilities. He has won gold at the 1999 Canadian National Championship as a player and was the head coach of the Canadian Junior National Championship Gold Medal winning team in 2013. Elio represented Team Canada as a player at the 2012 ISBHF World Masters Championships. Apart from his ISBHF Board of Directors duties, Elio also works as the ISBHF Technical Director..

Ronny Strähler, Switzerland, straehler@isbhf.com

Ronny Strähler represented his native country of Switzerland at numerous World Championships on the Junior and Men’s level, and also played for the Scarborough Blues in Toronto, Canada. In 2013, he took over the coaching responsibilities for his home club SHC Belpa 1107. Ronny joined the ISBHF Board as the representative of Switzerland in 2016.

Július Száraz, Slovakia, szaraz@isbhf.com

Július Száraz is the General Secretary of the Slovak Ball Hockey Federation and was recently the Chairman of the 2019 ISBHF World Championships in Košice, Slovakia. Prior to this, Julius served as Vice-President of the Slovak Ball Hockey Federation. He is also a competitive player, having played in three consecutive ISBHF Masters World Championships for Slovakia.

Jenny Hehir, Great Britain, jennyhehir@gmail.com

Jenny Hehir has played in four consecutive ISBHF World Championships dating back to 2013. She is also very active in coaching and managing the Great Britain junior programs, from managing the Great Britain Junior U20 & U18 teams in St. John’s in 2018 to coaching a junior development GB Lions team. Jenny has been with the ISBHF Board of Directors since 2019, leading the Women’s game.

Colin Gennoe, South Korea, gennoe@isbhf.com

Colin Gennoe, a Canadian citizen, has been living and playing ball hockey in South Korea since 2008. He is the captain of the South Korea National Team, having won the ISBHF Asia Championship twice. Colin has been serving as a Board Member for ISBHF since 2015 and is currently the International Development Director.

Chris Banks, USA, cbanks@usaballhockey.com

Chris started playing ball hockey at the age of 19 in his hometown, Buffalo, NY, and has captained and coached many teams since. After his active playing career, Chris has become an important builder of ball hockey in the USA. Together with a group of passionate people, Chris founded USA Ball Hockey – the national governing body of ball hockey in the USA – and is its current President. With his experience in building a successful organisation, business and legal procedures, Chris is also a vital part of the ISBHF Board of Directors, which he joined in 2020.

Olga Birčáková, Czech Republic, bircakova@hokejbal.cz

Olga is a lawyer with experience from international organisations and is leading one of Prague’s ball hockey clubs developing the youngest players. She is a member of Czech Ball Hockey Federation Executive Board, where is she engaged especially in the internal matters and international agenda of the organisation. Olga, also a recreational ball hockey player, has been with the ISBHF Board of Directors since January 2020.


Expert Committees

Technical Committee

Elio Pascuzzo, Technical Director, pascuzzo@isbhf.com
Jaroslav Pikula, Referee-in-Chief Europe, jaroslavpikula@seznam.cz
David Shaw, Referee-in-Chief North America, dgshaw4@shaw.ca

GAISF Committee

George Gortsos, Chairperson, president@isbhf.com
Tomáš Březina, Member, brezina@hokejbal.cz
Pascal Malkoun, Member, pascalmalkoun@gmail.com
David Tor, Member, tor@isbhf.com

Marketing Committee

David Tor, Marketing & Sponsorships, tor@isbhf.com
Colin Gennoe, Marketing & Development, gennoe@isbhf.com
Dave Reaser, Website, reaser@gmail.com

Women’s Committee

Jenny Hehir, Chairperson, jennyhehir@gmail.com

International Development Committee

Colin Gennoe, International Development Director, gennoe@isbhf.com
Christoph Curchod, Development – Europe, curchod@isbhf.com
Wayne Chow, Development – Asia-Pacific, wayne.chow@isbhf.com
Mimoun Mrini, Development – Africa, mimoun.mrini@isbhf.com
Marcus Morrison, Development – South America, marcus.morrison@isbhf.com